Tag Archives: Fire Brigades Union

Fire union chief attacks terms of Grenfell inquiry – because they will not identify the culprits

Work begins on covering Grenfell Tower with protective wrapping [Image: Tang/Zuma Wire/Rex/Shutterstock].

This Writer agrees with, supports and applauds the words of Matt Wrack, head of the Fire Brigades Union.

It seems clear that Theresa May wants a whitewash. She must not be allowed to have her way.

So what is to be done?

The head of the Fire Brigades Union, whose members rushed to save Grenfell Tower residents, has criticised the failure to have the judge-led inquiry into the disaster look at its social and political context.

Matt Wrack said that under its current terms the investigation would fail to answer crucial questions. He said it seemed designed to protect Whitehall from scrutiny and would exacerbate the hurt felt by survivors and the families of those who died.

Wrack said: “How is it remotely possible to seriously examine the causes, spread and results of the fire without examining ‘social, economic and political’ matters?”

He called the decision a “mighty kick of some really fundamental issues into some very long grass”. “There is clearly no intent from government for any wider inquiry or serious debate,” he said.

Source: Fire chief criticises terms of inquiry into Grenfell Tower blaze | UK news | The Guardian


Here are four ways to be sure you’re among the first to know what’s going on.

1) Register with us by clicking on ‘Subscribe’ (in the left margin). You can then receive notifications of every new article that is posted here.

2) Follow VP on Twitter @VoxPolitical

3) Like the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/VoxPolitical/

Join the Vox Political Facebook page.

4) You could even make Vox Political your homepage at http://voxpoliticalonline.com

And do share with your family and friends – so they don’t miss out!

If you have appreciated this article, don’t forget to share it using the buttons at the bottom of this page. Politics is about everybody – so let’s try to get everybody involved!

Vox Political needs your help!
If you want to support this site
(
but don’t want to give your money to advertisers)
you can make a one-off donation here:

Donate Button with Credit Cards

Buy Vox Political books so we can continue
fighting for the facts.


The Livingstone Presumption is now available
in either print or eBook format here:

HWG PrintHWG eBook

Health Warning: Government! is now available
in either print or eBook format here:

HWG PrintHWG eBook

The first collection, Strong Words and Hard Times,
is still available in either print or eBook format here:

SWAHTprint SWAHTeBook

Britain’s biggest trade union supports Corbyn’s bid for Labour leadership

v218-Jeremy-Corbyn-Get-v2

Unite, the UK’s largest trade union and the Labour Party’s biggest donor, has urged its members to support Jeremy Corbyn in the Labour leadership campaign.

The union’s decision is believed to be a reaction against the other leadership candidates’ support for policies of fiscal austerity.

Corbyn wants the party to reject austerity. Britain’s largest transport union, the RMT; the train drivers’ union, Aslef; the Fire Brigades Union (FBU) and the Bakers, Food and Allied Workers Union (BFAWU) have also backed him.

Unions are expected to have less influence on this year’s contest, because the party has moved to a one member, one vote system for choosing its leader. This may be a reaction against criticisms that Labour’s last leader, Ed Miliband, only won his place with union backing.

Corbyn only made it onto the ballot paper at the last minute, with support from fellow MPs who thought – correctly – that his presence would widen the debate.

With the left-winger now winning support from the unions and the wider Labour-supporting public, could Labour end up with a leader the public supports, but his own MPs don’t?

Follow me on Twitter: @MidWalesMike

Join the Vox Political Facebook page.

If you have enjoyed this article, don’t forget to share it using the buttons at the bottom of this page. Politics is about everybody – so let’s try to get everybody involved!

Vox Political needs your help!
If you want to support this site
(
but don’t want to give your money to advertisers)
you can make a one-off donation here:

Donate Button with Credit Cards

Buy Vox Political books so we can continue
fighting for the facts.

Health Warning: Government! is now available
in either print or eBook format here:

HWG PrintHWG eBook

The first collection, Strong Words and Hard Times,
is still available in either print or eBook format here:

SWAHTprint SWAHTeBook

Debate on MONDAY to annul prejudicial changes to firefighters’ pensions

[Image: Christopher Thomond for the Guardian.]

[Image: Christopher Thomond for the Guardian.]

A crucial vote is to take place tomorrow (Monday, December 15) on whether to annul the Coalition Government’s dangerous changes to firefighters’ pensions. The debate will begin at 4pm.

These are the changes that mean firefighters will not be eligible for their pensions unless they work until they are 60 years old – a tall order, considering many people in their 50s will fail the rigorous tests they must take to ensure they are fit for duty.

Anyone failing the test would be asked to leave the Fire and Rescue Service, meaning they would not be eligible for their pension. It’s a filthy cheat by the Conservative-led government, to take away the benefits for which these brave people have paid during their entire careers.

Labour tabled an Early Day Motion (EDM 454) to have the matter debated – and, to date, 281 MPs have signed in support of it, including 22 Liberal Democrats. To defeat the government, Firefighters would need to be sure of the support of at least 326 MPs – they are currently 45 short.

The Fire Brigades Union sees the role of the Liberal Democrats as potentially pivotal in the final arithmetic. If the support of enough Lib Dems is secured, and provided the support of the other opposition parties holds up, it will be possible to defeat the government. It only takes 326 votes.

Of course, it is not a foregone conclusion that every MP who signed the EDM will vote the same way – or even vote at all – so nothing can be taken for granted. That’s why it is crucial to apply pressure MPs in the short time left before the debate and vote, so Vox Political readers are urged to contact your MP, whether they have signed the EDM or not, and ask them to vote against the Government and in favour of our firefighters.

It will definitely mean the difference between a comfortable retirement after a life of service, and a struggle to survive during their twilight years for brave firefighters who have risked their lives many times for people like you.

It could mean the difference between life and death if you have to be rescued by a firefighter who has been forced to struggle under the new conditions.

Thanks to Anne Keen for bringing this to our attention. Here’s the list of MPs who have yet to sign the EDM. Please contact yours and demand their support in this matter.

LABOUR
William Bain: http://www.williebain.com/contact/

Margaret Beckett: http://www.parliament.uk/biogr…/commons/margaret-beckett/328

Gordon Brown: http://gordonbrownmp.org/contact/

Alistair Darling: http://www.parliament.uk/biograph…/…/mr-alistair-darling/596

Brian Donohoe: http://www.briandonohoemp.co.uk/contact.html

Chris Evans: http://www.chrisevansmp.co.uk/contact.html

Meg Hillier: http://www.meghillier.com/contact/

Margaret Hodge: http://margaret-hodge.co.uk/contact/

Lindsay Hoyle: http://lindsayhoyle.co.uk/about-lindsay/contact-lindsay/

Helen Jones: http://www.warringtonnorthlabour.com/wa…/helen-jones-mp.aspx

Chris Leslie: http://www.chrisleslie.org/contact-me/

Michael McCann: http://www.michaelmccann.org.uk/contact-us/

Gregg McClymont: http://www.greggmcclymont.com/content/contact/

Pat McFadden: http://www.patmcfadden.com/contact_me

Shabana Mahmood: http://www.shabanamahmood.org/contact-me

Madeleine Moon: http://www.madeleinemoonmp.com/contact

Pamela Nash: http://pamelanash.com/contact-me/

Dawn Primarolo: http://www.parliament.uk/biograph…/…/dame-dawn-primarolo/217

Nick Raynsford: http://www.nickraynsford.org.uk/contact_me

Anas Sarwar: http://www.parliament.uk/biographi…/commons/anas-sarwar/3981

Andrew Smith: http://www.andrewsmithmp.org.uk/contact

Gisela Stuart: http://www.giselastuartmp.co.uk/content/contact-gisela

LIBERAL DEMOCRATS

Norman Baker: http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/commons/norman-baker/28

Jeremy Browne: http://www.tauntondeanelibdems.org.uk/

Sir Malcolm Bruce: http://malcolmbruce.org.uk/en/contact

Andrew George: http://www.andrewgeorge.org.uk/help/you-need-help/

David Heath: http://www.davidheath.co.uk/david_s_office

Martin Horwood: http://www.martinhorwood.net/contact.html

Charles Kennedy: http://www.charleskennedy.org.uk/contact

John Leech: http://www.johnleech.org.uk/en/page/contact-details

Stephen Lloyd: http://www.stephenlloyd.org.uk/contact

Michael Moore: http://www.michaelmoore.org.uk/contact

Tessa Munt: http://www.tessamunt.org.uk/connections-list/

Alan Reid: http://www.aandb-libdems.org/contact-us/

Sir Robert Smith: http://www.parliament.uk/biogr…/commons/sir-robert-smith/639

Andrew Stunell: http://andrewstunell.org.uk/en/contact

Sarah Teather: http://sarahteather.org.uk/en/page/contact-sarah

John Thurso: http://johnthurso.org.uk/en/page/contact-john

Jenny Willott: http://jennywillott.com/en/contact

Simon Wright: http://simonwrightmp.co.uk/contact-simon/

DEMOCRATIC UNIONIST PARTY

Ian Paisley Jr: http://www.parliament.uk/biographi…/commons/ian-paisley/4129

INDEPENDENT

Eric Joyce: http://ericjoyce.co.uk/contact/

Follow me on Twitter: @MidWalesMike

Join the Vox Political Facebook page.

Vox Political needs your help!
If you want to support this site
(
but don’t want to give your money to advertisers)
you can make a one-off donation here:

Donate Button with Credit Cards

Buy Vox Political books so we can continue
advising you of developments you can support.

Health Warning: Government! is now available
in either print or eBook format here:

HWG PrintHWG eBook

The first collection, Strong Words and Hard Times,
is still available in either print or eBook format here:

SWAHTprint SWAHTeBook

Here’s why firefighters are on strike

141102firefighterstrike

If you’re one of those who thinks firefighters are not justified in their battle with the government over pensions, just copy the image above and look at it until you realise that they are.

Strikes are being held in protest at changes to pensions and the retirement age, which the Fire Brigades Union has claimed could lead to firefighters losing their jobs if they fail fitness tests in their late 50s.

Matt Wrack, general secretary of the FBU, asked in The Guardian: “How can it be remotely fair that the prime minister, already a millionaire, enjoys a far greater subsidy from his employer in absolute and proportional terms than a firefighter who is earning less than £30,000 a year? It is sickening hypocrisy.”

And TUC general secretary, Frances O’Grady, said: “Once again the government is showing its contempt for public-service workers. Evidence warns that raising the normal retirement age for firefighters would lead to older fighters facing no job and no pension after years of good service.”

Still think the firefighters are wrong? Then look at the people arguing against them and ask yourself whether they belong to one of the groups that have, in recent times, committed expenses fraud, taken huge unjustified bonuses (consequently jeopardising the economy), or avoided paying huge amounts of tax – either personally or as representatives of one or several corporations.

You should be burning with rage at what our spiteful Tory-led government is planning to do to older firefighters – those who have spent most of their lives saving others.

If you are, it’s one blaze that our firefighters won’t be in a hurry to extinguish.

Additional: After this article was published, the following picture appeared on Twitter:

141102firefightersacked

What do you think of people being sacked because they went on strike?

Follow me on Twitter: @MidWalesMike

Join the Vox Political Facebook page.

Vox Political needs your help!
If you want to support this site
(
but don’t want to give your money to advertisers)
you can make a one-off donation here:

Donate Button with Credit Cards

Buy Vox Political books so we can continue
lighting the fires of reason in the voting public!

Health Warning: Government! is now available
in either print or eBook format here:

HWG PrintHWG eBook

The first collection, Strong Words and Hard Times,
is still available in either print or eBook format here:

SWAHTprint SWAHTeBook